top of page

The Yoga 'Guidelines'

The 8 Limbs of Yoga, or some may now this as the 8 fold path, laid out in Pantanjali’s sutras, in a nutshell act as guidelines of how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. Combining our morals, ethical conduct and self discipline; directing the attention towards ones health.

Let me break down these 8 steps -

  1. Yama (ethics)

  2. Niyama (self discipline)

  3. Asana (physical postures)

  4. Pranayama (Breath work)

  5. Pratyahara (Self restraint)

  6. Dharana (Concentration)

  7. Dyana (Meditation)

  8. Samadhi (connection to the divine)

On a weekly basis we already practice, our Asana & Pranayama when we come to the mat, we also use our Dharana when we are journeying into a challenging pose and sequence. Now let us begin to take a deeper look at the other ‘guidelines’ in the 8 fold path and how we can incorporate them into our day to day lives.

In our yoga practice we focus on drawing our awareness to the breath, our awareness to how the body feels, but what if we could start doing this to our own thoughts? The ancient teachings are a practical way to bring understanding to our experiences as well as lead us to the next. They facilitate taking ownership of your life and directing it towards fulfilment that we all seek (Sahmadi.)

Together we will be exploring the Yama’s and the Niyama’s which are a foundation to all yogic thought and practice, showing you that your practice can extend far beyond the mat, and it can be our way of living.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page